Wheelchair Tennis at the Paralympics and Grand Slams

Connor Crenshaw

September 19, 2022

Wheelchair tennis is a sport for athletes with lower-limb impairments. It is played at the Paralympics and Grand Slams. Dutch athletes dominate it. Here are a few facts about this sport. The Dutch dominate wheelchair tennis. But a growing number of other countries, including Canada and the United States, are also competing.

Wheelchair tennis is a sport for athletes with lower limb impairment.

Wheelchair tennis is a sport for athletes with lower limb impairments, such as spinal cord injuries or amputations. The sport has evolved from an amateur competition to a highly competitive event, and its growth has been fueled by worldwide attention. It is one of the fastest-growing wheelchair sports and has been part of the Paralympic Games since 1992. Individuals play the sport with lower limb and trunk impairments who compete in a seated position.

Wheelchair tennis is a low-risk sport. During the 2012 Summer Paralympics, the injury incidence for wheelchair tennis athletes was 12.8 per 1000 athlete days. A total of 106 athletes reported injuries. Of these, 37% were acute, and 47% were overuse injuries. In contrast, boccia and goalball reported a higher rate of acute injuries. The IPC supports athletes and promotes social inclusion in this sport.

It is played during all the Grand Slams.

Wheelchair tennis is one of the fastest-growing sports in the world and is currently being played at all four Grand Slams. It is played in the same way as able-bodied tennis, except that the ball is bounced twice. There are two divisions in wheelchair tennis, Open, and Quad, played by players with permanent impairments to one or both legs. Players in the Quad division can use an electric wheelchair and tape their racket to their hands.

The first competitive wheelchair tennis event was played at the 2002 Australian Open. Since 2007, the sport has been included in all four Grand Slams. Since 2016, Wimbledon and Roland Garros have added men’s and women’s wheelchair singles events and are set to add quad singles in 2019.

It is played at the Paralympic Games.

Wheelchair tennis is a sport played by athletes who have lost the use of one or more limbs. The sport features singles and doubles competitions. The game’s objective is to hit a tennis ball over the net and into the opponent’s side of the court. The player wins a point if the ball bounces twice on the opponent’s side. It requires tremendous upper body strength.

Wheelchair tennis rules are similar to those of able-bodied tennis. The ball is allowed two bounces before the player must return it. The second bounce can be inside or outside the court boundaries. A wheelchair player may serve once and can only use one wheel. Matches are best of three sets, with a tie-break if necessary.

Dutch athletes dominate it.

Dutch wheelchair tennis players have a rich history, with many having won Grand Slam singles tournaments. Some of their successes have even reached the Paralympics. During their careers, they have won numerous awards, including the Laureus Award for Sportsperson of the Year with Disability in 2002 and 2008. In addition, they have earned the Fanny Blankers-Koen Career Award, the highest award for a Dutch athlete.

The Dutch have dominated the women’s wheelchair tennis category at the Paralympics since 1992, with gold in both singles and doubles events. The women’s singles gold medal match saw Diede de Groot beat Japan’s KAMIJI Yui, while the doubles gold medal match saw the Netherlands beat Great Britain’s Gordon Reid and Aniek van Koot. Both matches went the distance to keep the Dutch gold medal streak unbroken.

It is played at the Parapan Am Games.

Paralympic wheelchair tennis is one of 17 sports held at the Pan American Games, an event held four times per year and held the year before the Olympic Games. Over 6,000 athletes from 40 countries contest the event. More than one million spectators are expected to watch the competition. The games also include wheelchair basketball and wheelchair rugby. Tickets for these games can be purchased through a unique link. The proceeds of each ticket sold will benefit the OWSA.

The sport is played in three categories: singles, doubles, and quads. The rules are identical to those used in stand-up tennis, except that a player may allow the ball to bounce twice before it returns over the net. Canada had not won a medal in wheelchair tennis until Sarah Hunter, and Brian McPhate finished second in quad doubles at the 2004 Athens Parapan Am Games.